george street goes zen

I swear, when I left my house this morning, it was damn near chilly out. But by midmorning when I lay on my mat for savasana, the sun was out in full-force and I was a sweaty, happy little yogi in the middle of George Street.

For anyone even remotely familiar with St. John’s, there are a few questionable things about that situation.

1.  Sun? Warmth? In Newfoundland?? Miracles do happen! Ninety-six percent of the time, our weather is the absolute pits, but today was a rare exception. Positively gorgeous out, and that’s coming from a girl who is cold and cranky in anything less than twenty degrees. I’m just gonna chalk it up to further proof that yoga is magic.

2.  Savasana on George Street, any other day of the year, would more than likely be a euphemism for “passed out drunk”. For the non-Newfies reading this, George Street is THE place to go if you want to have a drink, or two, or many many drinks – the entire street is lined with nothing but bars and pubs. Definitely not a place that inspires you to roll out a yoga mat and get your zen on.

And yet, that’s what I was doing earlier today, and I wasn’t alone by any means. There were close to eight-hundred of us, happy and peaceful in a place that is usually anything but.

All thanks to lululemon, the yoga community of St. John’s, and, of course, the wonderful LB Power. She led us through a fabulous yoga class, and transformed the Street into a blissful, beautiful place, if only for a few hours. This is the second year they’ve managed to pull it off, as a completely unique part of the long-running George Street festival.

Further, further proof of the magic yoga is capable of.

Last year’s Yoga on George was one of my favorite days of the summer, and I’ve spent the past twelve months looking forward to a repeat. Today did not disappoint. It’s just such an amazing feeling to be surrounded by the happiness and good vibes of hundreds of yogis. All these people, some of them after leaving one of these very bars just a few hours ago, chose to come out – to George Street, on a Saturday morning – to be a part of this yoga practice, this community, this magic.

Honestly, I don’t think the smile left my face the entire time. Yoga always improves my mood, but yoga in the sunshine with such a big, wonderful group takes it to a whole ‘notha level. It transforms a dirty, booze-filled street to a sunny, positive yoga space. It transforms a bunch of strangers into a loving community; a blah, yucky mood into happiness. Magic. So many good vibes and happy feels in my lil yogi heart.

I need more of this in my life. ❤

20294470_10159014174125277_816731838765935992_n

PS: I know, it’s been a while since I’ve written, and this is kind of a jumbly, ramble-y post. I promise, there will be actual, quality writing soon! Just needed a lil release of all my love for today first 😉 Thanks for stickin’ around.

Namaste ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

