finding my authentic yoga teacher voice

“Root down into the mat, and feel yourself grow taller with every inhale. As you breathe in, allow your body to be filled with positive energy, and as you exhale, release any tension or bad vibes.”

I may be among the minority of people who actually really like the “flowery”, somewhat metaphoric language you hear so often in yoga classes. More often than not, I think that’s one of the first things non-yogis go for when making fun of the whole “woo-woo, hippie-dippie yoga” life. And even among fellow yogis, I know it’s a common pet peeve that some yoga teachers can’t seem to stick to simple everyday words.

I kinda think that’s why I appreciate it though – yoga deserves that pretty, elegant type of language. Few other things in my day to day life give me the calm contentment and happiness I feel on a yoga mat. Yoga has it’s own kind of positive magic for me, and I feel like flowy poetic words are appropriate to convey that.

In saying that, I’m struggling with finding my yoga teacher voice. Naturally, I am far from an eloquent speaker. I am often abrupt, nonsensical, and start a sentence without any idea how I plan on finishing it. None of which are good habits for someone trying to lead a yoga class and give off a zen vibe.

Phrases like “lift your heart chakra” and “breathe into your toes” don’t sound normal coming out of my mouth, as much as I’d like to be that yoga teacher. One of the most common tips I’ve read for new teachers is to be authentic, so I know I shouldn’t force it. But at the same time, I can’t very well instruct a class to “just swing your arm over like this”. Somewhere there’s got to be a happy medium.

So yeah, that’s my next challenge, I guess – finding a yoga teacher voice that feels right for me. Right now I’m proud of myself for finding any voice in front of a room full of people. Growing up I was so terribly shy and awkward; I never would have thought I’d be teaching yoga someday.

For anyone that comes to my classes, apologies in advance for any not-so-smooth phrasing, and thank you for coming anyway. I’m still learning, a lot! I’m so so grateful for the opportunity to teach, and I’m grateful for every student that shows up!

So for now, the light in me shines to the light in every single one of you. Namaste. ❤ 

One thought on “finding my authentic yoga teacher voice

  1. Look how far you’ve come. I’m so happy for you. I’ve known you a long time and I see how yoga has changed your life. You are an inspiration to many.
    Yoga is so good in so many ways.
    As for the yoga voice, you’ll figure it out. You always do.
    Namaste.

    Like

Leave a Reply

